Some personal information related to Andy Ruina

(mostly in Finland from ~May 18, 2011 - ~Aug 21, 2012)

 

email:

ruina@cornell.edu (no matter where I am, US, India, or Finland, alr3@cornell.edu is equivalent)

WWW page:
http://ruina.tam.cornell.edu
Work:
T&AM, Office/lab is 306 Kimball Hall, Cornell, Ithaca NY,14850;
Office/lab: 607-255-7108,  FAX: 607-255-2011,
Home:
227 Bryant Ave, Ithaca, NY 14850, cell: 607-327-0013, skype: 607 821-1442
Birthday:
January 13, 1953
Former homes

Providence RI (x2), Menlo Park CA, Cambridge MA (x2), Champagne IL, Arlington/Alexandria VA, Chevy Chase MD,
Lexington MA, Israel, Helsinki, The Åland Islands.
Parents:
Jack and Edith
Sisters:
Ellen, eruina@yahoo.com; and (Zach, Caroline)
Rachel, rmruina@gmail.com, (Andy, Josh, Coby, Sophie)
Wife:
Saskya van Nouhuys, saskya@cornell.edu, cell: 607-327-0014
Inlaws:
Dirk & Whitney van Nouhuys, dhvn@wandd.com, Whitney wvn@wandd.com
Daughter 1:
Annemieke (Mieke) (born 8/30/93), mieke64@gmail.com
Daughter 2:
Prachi (born about 9/6/01), picked up from Preet Mandir orphanage on July 16, 2002
Text co-author: Rudra Pratap (RP), pratap@mecheng.iisc.ernet.in,
phone: 011 91 80 344 1552(h), 011 91 80 344 2671(w)

Finland    How to call me, mail to me, or get to me in Finland
Long summers from 1997-2012 have been spent on an island in the Baltic Sea.The Finnish Åland islands near Stockholm are where Saskya, my wife, studies wasps that lay eggs in butterfly larvae. The possible coming extinction of these butterflies is being carefully monitored in a massive ecological study (see http://www.helsinki.fi/science/metapop).

India:   Contact info in India
Five times in the past several years I have gone to India. Four times to work on a textbook with Rudra Pratap in Bangalore and once to adopt our new baby Prachi in Pune. Saskya and Mieke came twice.

Photos (Random, incomplete and mostly non-work.)

What Andy does and doesn't eat.